Skip to content

The grass is always greener…

September 24, 2012

There is a pub down the road called ‘The Old Brown Shoe.’ I call it ‘The Brown Bear…’ because by the time I leave the place, it BECOMES ‘The Brown Bear.’

There are lots of British expats mingling with Singaporean Chinese and Malays. On SATURDAY they have live music playing – and this week there was a rock / indie band – with lyrics in Chinese.

This got me thinking that the pub is just like the UK, IN the UK. Whilst existing in Singapore, it still takes on that more exotic feel. Yet when I’m inside, I yearn for home. However, that’s the crux: the grass is always greener on the other side. When I venture outdoors again onto its veranda, overlooking the traffic and the tall palms, and the warm night-time air and chatting to anyone who happens to be exhaling the tropical heat with a cigarette in tow,   I think…but I NEVER CAN go back home again – not after seeing all of this, not after staying here for about three weeks; not after even supposing that the openness and generosity of the Malays or the Chinese or the Indians is all superficially  constructed for the benefit of the unsuspecting tourist…because it’s not…A person doesn’t become estranged to a place  they can call home…and I haven’t become estranged…even perhaps when others would. I don’t know.

Anyway, this is going to be home, because  it just CAN be…

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

